Team

Prof. Dr.
Günther Hambitzer
CEO /
Chairman of the Board of Directors

studied chemistry at the University of Bonn, obtained his doctorate and habilitation in physical chemistry at the University of Witten-Herdecke. After leading a "battery" research group at the University of Witten-Herdecke, he took over the management of a main department at the Fraunhofer Institute in Pfinztal. As managing director of battery companies, he also became an adjunct professor in physical chemistry at Witten-Herdecke University. Until 2011, in addition to his responsibilities as Head of Research and Development, he was also Chairman of the Management Board of fortu Holding AG. In 2015, he assumed executive responsibility for High Performance Battery Technology GmbH. Since 2018, he has also been Chairman of the Board of Directors of High Performance Battery Holding AG.

Dr. Sebastian Heinz
CSO

studied geography at the University of Münster and the University of Joensuu, Finland, and business administration at the FernUniversität Hagen, followed by a doctorate in economics at the University of Duisburg-Essen. His professional career led him via management consultancy and company foundation to sales. Before joining High Performance Battery AG, he was responsible for Machine-to-Machine Communication and Internet of Things sales for large and medium-sized customers in the business customer sales department of Telekom Deutschland GmbH. In this role, he primarily established innovation- and cooperation-based market access strategies from the idea to the product and with the product into the market. Since 2018, he has been Chief Sales Officer of High Performance Battery AG.

Dr. Thomas Lützenrath
COO

studied economics at the universities of Wuppertal, Stanford and Harvard. He was a member of the management board of the management consultancy Kienbaum and responsible for TMT, Telco, Media & Technology. Among other things, he founded high-tech companies to counteract the structural change in the Ruhr region. Subsequently Senior Executive Vice President "Group Organisation" and Group CIO of Deutsche Telekom AG, one of the largest technology groups in Europe. As Executive Vice President "Group Strategy" of Thomas Cook AG, he was responsible for the realignment of the group - in preparation for the IPO. He was also a partner at the auditing firm Ernst & Young and CEO and CRO of various technology companies, such as the AMK Group and the Bartec Group. Lützenrath has been Chief Operating Officer of High Performance Battery AG since 2018.

Team

Prof. Dr.
Günther Hambitzer
CEO /
Verwaltungs­rats­präsident

studierte Chemie an der Universität Bonn, promovierte und habilitierte in Physikalischer Chemie an der Universität Witten-Herdecke. Nach der Führung einer Forschungsgruppe „Batterie" an der Universität Witten-Herdecke übernahm er die Leitung einer Hauptabteilung am Fraunhofer-Institut in Pfinztal. Als Geschäftsführer von Batteriefirmen wurde er auch außerplanmäßiger Professor in Physikalischer Chemie an der Universität Witten-Herdecke. Bis 2011 war er neben seiner Verantwortung als Leiter der Forschung und Entwicklung auch Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der fortu Holding AG. 2015 übernahm er die geschäftsführende Verantwortung für die High Performance Battery Technology GmbH. Seit 2018 ist er zudem Verwaltungsratspräsident der High Performance Battery Holding AG.

Dr. Sebastian Heinz
CSO

studierte Geographie an der Universität Münster und der University of Joensuu, Finnland, sowie Betriebswirtschaft an der FernUniversität Hagen mit anschließender Promotion in Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Sein beruflicher Werdegang führte ihn über die Stationen Unternehmensberatung und Unternehmensgründung in den Vertrieb. Vor seinem Einstieg in die High Performance Battery AG verantwortete er den Fachvertrieb Machine-to-Machine Communication und Internet of Things für Großkunden und Mittelstand im Geschäftskundenvertrieb der Telekom Deutschland GmbH. In dieser Funktion etablierte er vor allem innovations- und kooperationsbasierte Marktangangsstrategien von der Idee zum Produkt und mit dem Produkt in den Markt. Seit 2018 ist er Chief Sales Officer der High Performance Battery AG.

Dr. Thomas Lützenrath
COO

studierte Ökonomie an den Universitäten Wuppertal, Stanford und Harvard. Er war Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung der Unternehmensberatung Kienbaum und verantwortlich für TMT, Telco, Media & Technology. U. a. Gründung von High-Tech-Unternehmen, um dem Strukturwandel des Ruhrgebiets entgegenzuwirken. Anschließend Senior Executive Vice President „Group Organisation" und Group CIO der Deutschen Telekom AG, einer der größten Technologiekonzerne Europas. Als Executive Vice President „Group Strategy" der Thomas Cook AG war er für die Neuausrichtung des Konzerns - als Vorbereitung auf den Börsengang - verantwortlich. Darüber hinaus war er Partner der Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft Ernst & Young und CEO sowie CRO diverser Technologieunternehmen, etwa der AMK Gruppe und der Bartec Gruppe. Lützenrath ist seit 2018 Chief Operating Officer der High Performance Battery AG.